We issue authorization holds as a way to better protect against fraud that may result from unauthorized card usage.
When you schedule a booking with SweepSouth, your payment will be reserved, this means that we’ll issue a pre-authorization hold against your credit card for the upfront estimated total for your booking.
- If you create a booking that is scheduled to take place in less than 4 days time, we will place this pre-authorization hold against your card at the time that you create the booking.
- If you create a booking that is scheduled to take place in more than 4 days time then, 5 days before your booking is scheduled to take place, we’ll issue a pre-authorisation hold against your card.
- On the evening of your booking (once the booking is completed), this pre-authorization hold is converted to a charge for the final total.
An authorization hold is an amount of money that isn’t actually charged to your account when issued and will often be listed on your account as pending while we confirm that your payment method is valid. The amount will only be charged on completion of a SweepSouth booking (i.e. once the service is complete).
If the booking has been canceled, the original pre-authorization hold should be voided from your payment method within 10 business days, depending on your bank policy - SweepSouth will not charge the amount. Keep in mind that it could take a few days to a week for you to see this pending line transaction on your bank statement disappear. If you'd like further details on the transaction you're seeing on your statement, please contact your bank who will be able to confirm that the money has not left your account, and give you a clearer timeframe of when the line item will disappear from your statement.
If the total hours total more than the upfront estimated price SweepSouth will charge the initial pre-authorization amount and charge you for the additional amount.